Ohio Practice : Home

Opinions of the Attorney General of Ohio 

• In Print: Law Stacks (Ohio Materials), 4th floor, through September 2016 (KFO 427.5 .A8O3)
• Online: https://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/About-AG/Service-Divisions/Opinions

• Northeastern Reporter, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd series (1885-present): Law stacks, 4th floor
• Ohio Official Reports (1965-present): Law stacks, 4th floor (Contains cases from the Ohio Supreme Court, appellate courts, and some trial level cases)
• Ohio State Reports, 1st and 2nd series (1893-1982): Law stacks, 4th floor (Contains cases from the Ohio Supreme Court. The Ohio State Reports 2d are also published in the Ohio Official Reports)
• https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/ROD/docs/: Opinions of the Ohio Supreme Court, Ohio Appellate Courts, Courts of Claims, and more (1992-present). Briefs for cases are occasionally posted in PDF format, beginning in 2006.
• https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/clerk/ecms/#/search: The Ohio Supreme Court's online docket

• https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/: The Ohio Supreme Court website
• https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/courts/judicial-system/ohio-court-of-appeals/: Links to Ohio Appeals Courts
• https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/courts/judicial-system/ohio-trial-courts/: Links to Ohio trial courts by county
• https://ohiocourtofclaims.gov/: The Ohio Court of Claims website
• The American Bench: Judges of the Nation: Law stacks, 3rd floor (KF 8700 .A19A5) 
  • Most recent edition available: 2012 (22nd ed.)
  • Contains court information, maps, contact information, and biographies of judges for each state

• Rules Governing the Courts of Ohio (1995-present): KFO 529 .A2A5
  • Most recent edition: Law Reserve Room
  • Prior editions: Law Stacks, 4th floor 
  • Multiple volumes covering state, local, and federal courts
• Ohio Rules of Court (2005-present): KFO 529 .A2W41, KFO 529 .A2W42
  • Most recent edition: Law Reserve Room
  • Prior editions: Law Stacks, 4th floor 
  • Four volumes: federal, bankruptcy, state, and local
• A comprehensive list of Ohio court rules, provided by the Consortium of Ohio County Law Libraries
• Rules of Practice of the Supreme Court of Ohio 
• Supreme Court of Ohio Writing Manual

• West's Ohio Digest (2000-present)
  • Updated by pocket parts
  • Law stacks, 4th floor (KFO 57 .W4)
• Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (1977-present)
  • Updated by pocket parts 
  • Law stacks, 4th floor (KFO 65 .O35) 

• Ohio Jury Instructions: A Collection of Standard Jury Instructions in Civil and Criminal Cases (2008-present)
  • Loose-leaf
  • Law Stacks, 4th floor (KFO 542.6 .O351) 

• Ohio Legislative History: Provides an overlook of sources providing Ohio legislative history. 
• Ohio Legislative Services Commission: Provides bill analyses, status reports of legislation, and fiscal notes from 1997-present. 

Links to the ordinances of some Ohio municipalities:

• Municode
• American Legal Publishing

• Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated (1994-present):
  • Updated by pocket parts
  • Law Stacks, 4th floor (KFO 30 1994 .A4B3)
  • Superceded volumes are also available
• Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated (1953-present):
  • Updated by pocket parts
  • Law Stacks, 4th floor (KFO 30 1953 .A4P3)
  • Superceded volumes are also available
• Baldwin's Ohio Legislative Service (1971-present):
  • Law Stacks, 4th floor (KFO 15 .B34)
• Page's Legislative Bulletin (1985-present):
  • Law Stacks, 4th floor (KFO 15 .B34)
• Laws of Ohio (1803-1998):
  • Law Stacks, 4th floor (KFO 25 .O35)
• Ohio Revised Code (no annotations)
• Ohio Legislature unofficial session laws (1997-present):
  • https://legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/acts
  • http://archives.legislature.state.oh.us/search.cfm#acts

The Ohio Administrative Code publishes the final regulations of Ohio executive agencies. The arrangement is by agency.

• In Print: Law Stacks (Ohio Materials), 4th floor, most recent edition with supplement (KFO 35 .A2A34 1994)
• Online: https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code

The Ohio Monthly Record publishes final regulations of Ohio executive agencies approved since the publication of the print edition of the Ohio Administrative Code. The Ohio Monthly Record is published monthly July through June. It is arranged chronologically and then by agency. 

• In Print: Law Stacks (Ohio Materials), 4th floor, 1989-90 through 2017-18 (KFO 35 .A4M6)

The Register of Ohio publishes both proposed and recently adopted final regulations of Ohio executive agencies. It provides public notice and information about state agency rule-making proceedings, including notices of public hearings. Documents published in the Register of Ohio include the text of proposed rules, final rules, no-change rules, and emergency rules. The Register of Ohio also publishes the text of withdrawn proposed and final rules.

• Online: https://registerofohio.state.oh.us/home

The Joint Committee of Agency Rule Review publishes the JCARR Weekly Reports. JCARR Weekly Reports list agency rules filed each week. The arrangement is by agency. 

• Online: https://jcarr.state.oh.us/meetings/