Paralegal E-books: Home

An up-to-date introduction to Administrative Law, written specifically for the paralegal, that offers clear explanations of how administrative agencies are created, how they are structured, and how they function. Agency discretion, rules and regulations, clients' rights, investigations, informal and formal proceedings, and judicial review are thoroughly covered. This well-designed textbook grounds students in the basics of Administrative Law as well as offering practical advice for employment opportunities for paralegals in the field. Key Features: Up-to-date images of websites and sample forms  Numerous visual aids, such as charts and figures Helpful pedagogy in each chapter that includes examples, chapter summaries, key terms, review questions, crossword puzzles, and lists of websites Examples highlight the role of the paralegal in administrative law practice The Concepts Journal, that encourages students to observe, analyze, and reflect on a related topic Advanced Studies sections that provide opportunity for more in-depth study A chapter dedicated to paralegal skills and careers that delves into career opportunities in both private and public sectors Highlights of the revised Fifth Edition: Expanded coverage of administrative agency websites, with information on how to access news, rules, documents, and forms Thoroughly updated with new cases and changes in the law A fresh look at the role of the paralegal in administrative law practice New State Practice Exercises, designed to familiarize the student with state administrative law and agencies in their home jurisdiction Updated Internet-based exercises in the Electronic Workbook that explore laws, rules, and agencies--and include information on agencies' websites, organizational charts, and career opportunities for paralegals within administrative agencies

The Eleventh Edition of Basic Bankruptcy Law for Paralegals builds on previous editions and offers a concise integration of theory and practice as a basis for improved learning. It presents readable and succinct descriptions of the bankruptcy system with an emphasis on the paralegal's role at every stage of a bankruptcy proceeding. With thorough coverage of the practical aspects of representing debtors or creditors, this popular text prepares students to succeed as paralegals in all areas of bankruptcy. It focuses on the nuts and bolts of commercial bankruptcies, including the Chapter 11 process. New to the Eleventh Edition: Coverage of the Small Business Reorganization Act of 2019 throughout the book Updates to the Official Bankruptcy Forms Citations to recent and noteworthy case opinions The most recent statutory adjustment of dollar exemption amounts (and other provisions) in the Bankruptcy Code Professors and students will benefit from: Straightforward writing that explains basic consumer bankruptcy in ordinary English Thorough coverage of bankruptcy including both consumer and creditor representation A helpful overview of the bankruptcy code and rules A comprehensive introduction to client interview skills and the client interview process An integrated narrative fact pattern allowing students to learn the topic of each chapter interactively Step-by-step guidance through the paralegal's role at every stage of the bankruptcy proceeding Simple instructions for completing and submitting documentation in a timely manner Detailed treatment of means testing, including a tutorial A wealth of helpful teaching aids within the book, including: Examples, procedural checklists, summaries of the law, discussion questions, learning objectives, and a glossary of common bankruptcy terms

This approachable textbook by Jeffrey A. Helewitz is a basic introduction to real estate law that lays out the foundations of the law in a readable, helpful format. A thorough yet manageable introduction with examples that clarify the paralegal's role, Basic Real Estate and Property Law for Paralegals covers estates in land and future interests; titles; land use; conveyancing; closing procedures; condos, co-ops, and commercial property; and landlord-tenant law. In the Sixth Edition, new cases bring fresh perspectives on the following topics: The Rule against Perpetuities Public nuisance claims Problems with covenants and horizontal privity Legal and ethical problems associated with securities backed by sub-prime mortgages Warranty of habitability and security deposits Bailments Professors and students will benefit from: Helpful chapter pedagogy, including key terms, practical tips, ethical points, and chapter summaries, that reinforces the discussions in the book Edited cases in each chapter that give students practice reading and analyzing case decisions Legal forms in each chapter that provide examples and practice documents on a topic-by-topic basis Clear examples that help students understand the material Final chapter on personal property that introduces students to essential concepts of tangible and intangible property Extensive practice and review features with end-of-chapter review points, exercises, activities, and analytical situational analyses

This succinct, simple, and straightforward introduction to all of the basics of wills, trusts, and estates law was specifically designed for paralegal students. Continuing examples describing four different families provide an accessible structure and helpful point of reference for students learning the intricacies of estate planning. New to the Eighth Edition: New sections on specialized trusts Updated tax thresholds and rules Updated federal and state documents and forms New case studies in each chapter cover such issues as: Estates that cross state lines; late claims by creditors Privacy and security of a decedent's digital assets; power of appointment and drafting problems Adoptive partners and marriage; equitable adoption Changing the type of trust after the death of a testator Undue influence and dependent relative revocation Health care proxy vs. durable power of attorney Fee for guardian ad litem; unsupervised administration of court orders Finding by the state that federal law is in error; inclusion of gift taxes Professors and students will benefit from: Comprehensive coverage of the key topics includes a review of the sources of property law, trusts, and taxes, topics not thoroughly covered in other texts. Clearly written text and lively examples help students understand the law. A straightforward introduction that provides a student-friendly orientation to the subject Clear and concise coverage of key topics A review of the sources of property law, trusts, and taxes A helpful guide to drafting documents related to wills and trusts Step-by-step instructions for completing the entire federal estate tax return State-by-state analysis of trust and estate law Four families/clients threaded through the text exemplify the intricacies of estate planning Chapter overviews, key terms, review questions, sample clauses, edited cases, chapter summaries, and end-of-chapter exercises Sample forms in the appendix Examples and explanations pedagogy engages students with the material. Practical approach appeals to programs with shorter, less theoretical courses. Includes a comparison study of all the state statutes.  

Business Organizations for Paralegals offers comprehensive overview of business organizations for paralegals, presented in a student-friendly format. Its coverage of all the various types of business organizations provides a basic and thorough understanding without overwhelming students. Key Features: Thorough and meaningful coverage of each type of business entity, discussing the nature of the business entity, the advantages and disadvantages of each type of organization, business operation and management, transferability of ownership, formation and dissolution of the business, and tax implications for each type of organization A "life-cycle approach" that follows each type of organization from its formation to its operation, dissolution, and tax consequences Helpful visual aids and charts that illustrate and highlight important concepts Practice Tips, sample forms, key terms, discussion questions, and a useful glossary Internet resources for additional information, forms, and agreements The role of the paralegal, with descriptions of tasks assigned to paralegals by topic Highlights from the Eighth Edition: How the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act affect pass-through entities and corporations The impact of the U.S. switching from a worldwide tax system to a modified territorial system New trends in corporate law, such as inversions, mechanisms to deter inversions, and the use of cryptocurrencies in initial coin offerings New trends in mergers, including the use of "no shop" provisions and "break-up" fees in merger agreements  Expanded coverage of securities issues, such as using Regulation A+ to raise capital; "Up-C" as an alternative to the traditional IPO; the emergence of "unicorn companies"; and the SEC's new Cyber Unit that targets cyber-related misconduct in the marketplace Four methods of shareholder voting: majority, plurality, plurality plus, and consequential voting New trends in corporate governance and shareholder proposals   Fresh case illustrations throughout the text New and updated sample forms and charts

Featuring Deborah E. Bouchoux's highly regarded assignments, examples, and building-block approach, Concise Guide to Legal Research and Writing, Fourth Edition continues to provide timely coverage of the essential research and writing skills used by today's paralegals. Designed specifically for paralegal students, this is the ideal text for shorter legal research and writing courses. New to the Fourth Edition: New "Sidebar" feature in all research chapters provides quick tips showing how the material in that chapter applies to computer-assisted legal research systems, such as Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law. Discussion of GovInfo, which provides free public access to official and authenticated publications from all three branches of the federal government. Coverage of new tools used for cite-checking, including EVA and Bestlaw. Discussion of Westlaw Edge, Westlaw's new research platform. Extensive new coverage of the increasing use of artificial intelligence in legal research and writing. Discussion of new sources that provide free public access to the law, including Harvard's Caselaw Access Project, CourtListener, and RECAP Project. New sections on preparing email letters and email memoranda, including assignments. All new Research Questions and Internet Legal Research Assignments have been included for each chapter. Professors and students will benefit from: Concise, well-organized text, divided into six main sections: Section I discusses primary authorities Section II covers secondary sources Section III focuses on computer-assisted legal research using Lexis Advance, Westlaw, and the Internet Section IV covers citation form and how to ensure that these sources are still "good law" Section V provides an overview of the legal research process Section VI covers legal writing Pedagogy designed to enhance the accessibility of the material, including helpful charts and diagrams that synthesize complex topics, updated Practice Tips offering realistic and helpful suggestions for workplace success, and Ethics Alerts in every chapter. Targeted and ample exercises help students learn how to use a wide range of research sources. Tips on how to effectively use electronic resources are included throughout the text. Conscientious revision ensures that the book has the most up-to-date material, presented in a readable and accessible format.  

Clearly written, and replete with design elements that facilitate study and review, the Concise Guide to Paralegal Ethics provides succinct coverage that focuses on the professional paralegal. Perfect for use in shorter courses, or substantive courses with an ethics component, the Fifth Edition provides timely and thorough coverage of all major legal ethics topics. New to the Fifth Edition: Discussion of how the ethics of technology affects paralegals in matters of confidentiality and privilege, competence, conflicts of interest, and advertising Changes in legal practice that add to the responsibilities of paralegals Refreshed review questions, discussion questions, hypotheticals, and projects Professors and students will benefit from: Consistent emphasis on how the rules of ethics affect paralegals Authoritative writing in a well-organized format Helpful overviews in every chapter Italicized key terms with corresponding definitions in the margins Review questions, hypotheticals, discussion points, and projects Relevant ethics codes, conveniently located in the Appendix Teaching materials include: Instructor's Manual with Test Bank PowerPoint slides

Using actual examples from practice, Criminal Law and Procedure for the Paralegal, Third Edition, teaches students about the real-world experience of the paralegal, with coverage of local, state, and federal criminal cases. Working with the various types of cases presented in this book familiarizes students with the role of the paralegal in the process of investigation, prosecution, and defense, in criminal cases. Edward Carter s successful building-block approach explains the basic elements of all criminal offenses and how those elements are used to define crimes.

With complete coverage of the ethical principles that inform the role of the paralegal, Ethics and Professional Responsibility for Paralegals, Eighth Edition is ideal for use as either a primary course book, or a supplementary text. An authoritative presentation combined with clear and readable pedagogy enriches all levels of inquiry into the ethics of legal practice. Key Benefits: Comprehensive coverage of the professional responsibilities of paralegals, illuminated with chapter overviews, key terms, and a student-friendly organization. Discussion questions with hypotheticals and review questions in each chapter. Landmark cases, many involving paralegals, that demonstrate how the principles and rules of ethics are applied. Updated ethics opinions, with a focus on technology and social media, supported by new hypotheticals. Expanded coverage of how technology is affecting various aspects of ethics and practice, including confidentiality and privilege, competence, conflicts of interest and advertising. Many new cases including: State Bar v. Lang (unauthorized practice of law), Committee v. JPMorgan Chase (competence), Lola v. Skadden (professionalism), Pension Committee v. Banc of America Securities (advocacy), and McDermott v. Superior Court (confidentiality).

Clearly written textbook that helps students understand how evidentiary principles are applied in real-life situations. Text focuses on the practical applications of the Federal rules of Evidence and how the rules relate to paralegal practice. Features: Covers a full range of topics, including gathering evidence, interviewing witnesses, and researching. Written from a real-life perspective, showing how actual practice works in local, state, and federal court. Pedagogy in text developed for paralegal students, and includes short case summaries, readable examples, marginal definitions of terms, marginal cross-references to the Rules of Evidence, review questions, and hypotheticals. Short, concise presentation is ideal for paralegal courses. Updated with changes to the Federal Rules of Evidence. Updated with new cases. New hypotheticals and discussion questions added.

Interviewing and Investigating: Essential Skills for the Legal Professional, Seventh Edition, reflects a thorough and practical approach for a strong foundation in interviewing and investigating, as well as in the civil, criminal, and non-litigation contexts in which they are used. This comprehensive text uses realistic case scenarios, practical exercises, illustrations, and examples to teach the essential skills of interviewing and investigating, helping students to master rather than memorize the skills. Led by Stephen P. Parsons, an experienced practitioner and author, readers will make connections between law and fact, engage in critical analysis, and develop specific communication skills that are indispensable in practice. New to the Seventh Edition: Updated and additional websites New and freshened Examples, Hypotheticals, LBDs and Sleuth on the Loose features More in-depth coverage on how to locate and obtain medical, educational, and employment records References to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure reflecting the latest amendments Summaries of newly decided cases dealing with ESI issues including spoliation and proportionality raised by the recent amendments to FRCP 26(c)(1)(B), 37(e) and 16(b)(3) Updated coverage of the Federal Rules of Evidence, including newly amended FRE 902(13) regarding self-authentication of electronic records and 803(16) regarding ancient records Discussions of the latest developments in online social networking and technology including smart phones, social networking, and constant Internet as well as the role of public and private surveillance cameras and surveillance drones Professors and students will benefit from: A dynamic pedagogy, including hypotheticals, Learn by Doing exercises, chapter summaries, and basic review questions in every chapter Examples from civil, criminal, litigation, and non-litigation scenarios Emphasis on ethical and professional standards, integrated throughout the text and focused on in a chapter devoted to ethical issues Four realistic cases for analysis and use in the Learn by Doing exercises--homicide, personal injury, domestic relations, and a real estate development project

Law Office Management for Paralegals, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive introduction to law office management, emphasizing ethics, law office culture, law office systems, and “soft skills,” such as communications and critical thinking. Assignments are drawn from real-world law office management situations and supported by innovative visual aids and learning tools. Students get hands-on practice with timekeeping, conflicts-checking, file management, trust accounting, business planning, correspondence, and much more. They are exposed to law office software, such as Clio, and learn to perform vital functions using other software and even freeware. Career profiles emphasize the importance of involvement in professional organizations, advancement in the legal field without obtaining a law degree, and that the legal profession is populated by men and women of all ages and backgrounds.

Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals emphasizes the skills and issues that paralegals encounter in practice. Thoroughly up-to-date, the Ninth Edition continues to combine clear text with visual aids, writing samples, tips, and pointers. Designed specifically for paralegal students, Deborah Bouchoux's classroom-tested approach teaches cutting-edge research skills, writing style, and proper citation form--to equip students with an essential skill set and well-founded confidence. The author's logical and comprehensive approach enhances students' understanding. Part I covers Primary Authorities, Part II discusses Secondary Authorities, and Part III covers the basics of Legal Writing. In addition, Bouchoux integrates writing strategies into each research chapter to demonstrate the link between the two processes. Thorough coverage of electronic research includes chapters on both internet research and fee-based services. Bouchoux thoroughly explains proper citation form and the process of updating/validating legal authorities. The Legal Writing section includes samples of legal writing, such as letters, a court brief, and a legal memorandum. New to the Ninth Edition: New "Sidebar" feature in all research chapters that provides quick tips showing how the material in that chapter applies to computer-assisted legal research systems, such as Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law. Discussion of GovInfo, which provides free public access to official and authenticated publications from all three branches of the federal government. Coverage of new tools used for cite-checking, including EVA and Bestlaw. Discussion of Westlaw Edge, Westlaw's new research platform. Extensive new coverage of the increasing use of artificial intelligence in legal research and writing. Discussion of new sources that provide free public access to the law, including Harvard's Caselaw Access Project and CourtListener. New sections on preparing email letters and email memoranda, including assignments. All new Research Questions and Internet Legal Research Assignments have been included for each chapter. Professors and students will benefit from: Pedagogy designed to enhance the accessibility of the material, including helpful charts and diagrams that synthesize complex topics, Practice Tips offering realistic and helpful suggestions for workplace success, and Ethics Alerts in every chapter. Targeted and ample exercises help students learn how to use a wide range of research sources. Charts and practice tips, updated for this edition, that help students apply what they have learned. Tips on how to effectively use electronic resources are included throughout the text. Conscientious revision ensures that the book has the most up-to-date material, presented in a readable and accessible format.  

Coyne and Furi-Perry have created the essential how-to guide for trial preparation. Paralegals will master every stage of litigation, from initial client interviews to pulling together the trial notebook. The book begins with overviews of the litigation process and the evidence rules. Practical skills for interviewing, handling discovery, preparing exhibits, and more are then introduced and explained with examples. Finally, the book stresses the importance of communication and working well with attorneys, clients, courts, and others.