Online Health Law & Policy Resources: Home

Kaiser Family Foundation: http://kff.org

The Kaiser Family Foundation is a nonprofit organization that publishes research and polling on national health issues, especially as they effect vulnerable populations, such as those with low income, no insurance, or chronic health issues. The KFF also focuses on the U.S. role in global health policy. The KFF is a non-partisan source of facts and analysis for everyone from legislators and other policy makers, to the media and the general public.

Kaiser Health News: http://khn.org

Kaiser Health News (KHN) is a nonprofit news service committed to in-depth coverage of health care policy and politics, as well as how the health care system works. KHN journalism is republished by news organizations throughout the country, and the KHN website features daily summaries of major health care news. KHN is funded by the Kaiser Family Foundation, but is editorially independent of the KFF. It is available online at the website above and is also available online through the KFF's website.

The Commonwealth Fund: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that promotes a high performing health care system, especially for society's most vulnerable populations, by supporting independent research on health care issues; the Fund also makes grants to improve health care practice and policy. The Fund produces more than 100 publications a year, which are available for free through the Fund's website. Such publications include case studies, reports, briefs, and newsletters, and are focused on such topics as health care delivery, coverage, access, costs, and breakthroughs, and international health policy. The Fund also produces health system scorecards, which provide performance benchmarks and improvement targets for states, communities, and the nation. The Fund's website provides access to a variety of surveys and other health care-related data.

Health Affairs: http://www.healthaffairs.org

Described as "the bible of health policy" and “A must-read policy journal for health wonks”, Health Affairs is a peer-reviewed journal that is published monthly. The leading journal on health policy thought and research, it serves as a high-level, nonpartisan forum for analysis and discussion on improving health and health care and addressing such issues as cost, quality, and access. The website for Health Affairs provides free access to its archive, which contains PDFs of all articles going back to its first issue in 1981 (although a subscription may be necessary for articles less than three years old).

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: http://www.rwjf.org

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) is the nation’s largest philanthropy dedicated solely to health. The Foundation provides grants to entities working and researching in the areas of healthy communities, health systems, health leadership, and healthy children. The RWJF website offers program reports dating back to Sept. 1996, as well as assessment reports, topic-based retrospectives, and other health-related information.

U.S. National Library of Medicine: https://www.nlm.nih.gov

A part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world’s largest biomedical library, supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics. The NLM website offers access to a variety of health-related databases, as well as medical terminology resources.

Last update 2/14/2024.