Skip to Main Content
Newly Purchased Books
Welcome to the New Books page for the Capital University Law Library.
Here you can find 3 distinct sections including; DEI (Diversity, Equity & Inclusion), Casual Reading, and a spotlight of new releases.
The new book designation covers all titles that are neither textbook nor reserves, but still benefit your law education. Topics cover various aspects of the law such as issues of housing, animal rights, social justice, and more.
Current faculty are welcome to provide suggestions for additions to the library collection by emailing: email@example.com. Your request will be reviewed by the librarians, and if appropriate for our collection, will be purchased. If you're interested in any of the following new releases, please email firstname.lastname@example.org and staff will route requests your way.
The Thriving Lawyer by
Call Number: [NEW] K120 .C57 2024
Publication Date: 2023-07-25
The Thriving Lawyer: A Multidimensional Model of Well-Being for a Sustainable Legal Profession is based on an innovative model, grounded in science. This book serves as a resource for promoting well-being and culture-change in the legal community by educating about pertinent issues impacting lawyers, and how to address them. It is a roadmap, highlighting the many over-arching and inter-connected aspects of well-being, and enabling readers to identify and target the issues most relevant to their unique situations. Along with practical strategies, the book provides a big-picture framework, illustrating how the many intersecting individual and organizational factors which influence well-being are all related, yet separate and distinct. The framework provides a foundation for creating change, and where you focus first will depend on the needs, the situation, and any unique challenges faced by you or your organization. The Thriving Lawyer explains why, in addition to self-care, change is needed on the organizational level in terms of workplace culture and policies, as well as normalizing self-care and eradicating stigma. This book is intended to benefit individual lawyers, their organizations, and professionals who support them, by educating, motivating, and promoting self-care and healthy work environments.
The Accidental Instructional Designer, 2nd Edition by
Call Number: [NEW] LB1028.38 .B43 2023
Publication Date: 2023-04-25
Go From Accidental to Intentional Filled with insights and tips, this updated edition of The Accidental Instructional Designer, by e-learning veteran Cammy Bean, covers nearly every aspect of the learning design process for those getting started or even for the experienced practitioner in need of new ideas. Many trainers and instructional designers fall into the talent development profession by accident, often having been tasked by their organization to train others on a subject they are expert in. Whether they're good at explaining technical concepts or have a way with PowerPoint, they have often have little to no formal education in instructional design. Many are looking for grounding in the core principles of instructional design so that they can design effective and engaging digital learning experiences. Cammy explores instructional design basics such as working with subject matter experts, picking a design approach, and making your learning experiences better through storytelling, interactivity, and visuals. In this second edition, she goes deeper into the learning and development space (where instructional design happens at organizations), learning tools, the technology ecosystem, and assessment and evaluation frameworks. Along the way, you'll hear from a few other accidental instructional designers, get ideas for your own projects, and find resources and references to take your own practice to the next level.
Winning with Social Media 2. 0 by
Call Number: [NEW] KF320.I57 S54 2023
Publication Date: 2023-07-10
The world has changed in the last twenty years, and evidence has changed with it. Gone are the days when exhibits consisted of paper documents, photographs, and tangible items. Instead, we live in the era of instant messages, social site accounts that come and go, and online anonymity in need of piercing. Forgery, fraud, and falsehoods have always been with us, but the tools for committing these acts are now easily obtained and widely used. All this presents a host of new challenges to any attorney attempting to use or combat evidence from these sources. Our courts rely on evidence that is reliable and honest, and our job as lawyers is to find and confirm that reliable, honest evidence. Winning with Social Media is designed to help you do just that. It provides the tools you need to find and capture the online evidence that a party opponent may try to obscure, modify, or even erase from the Internet. With this guidebook at your side, you can do the research and evidence preservation necessary to make your case. New to the Second Edition: Updated with discussions of current tools such as Snapchat, TikTok, and more Updated authority dealing with social media evidence Expanded discussion of Hearsay and social media evidence Checklists for preparing witnesses for trial Checklists for assisting clients with discovery Checklists for authenticating numerous sources of social media evidence Checklist for an Authentication Hold letter Additional checklist for sources of social media not included in the text Professors and students will benefit from: Insightful and practical discussions of social media evidence Aids of mock trial and trial advocacy classes which may incorporate social media evidence An introduction of social media concepts for students and faculty who may not have an understanding of the evidentiary concepts associated with social media
The End of Family Court by
Call Number: [NEW] KF9794 .S656 2023
Publication Date: 2023-08-01
Explores the failures of family court and calls for immediate and permanent change At the turn of the twentieth century, American social reformers created the first juvenile court. They imagined a therapeutic court where informality, specially trained public servants, and a kindly, all-knowing judge would assist children and families. But the dream of a benevolent means of judicial problem-solving was never realized. A century later, children and families continue to be failed by this deeply flawed court. The End of Family Court rejects the foundational premise that family court can do good when intervening in family life and challenges its endless reinvention to survive. Jane M. Spinak illustrates how the procedures and policies of modern family court are deeply entwined in a heritage of racism, a profound disdain for poverty, and assimilationist norms intent on fixing children and families who are different. And the court's interventionist goals remain steeped in an approach to equity and well-being that demands individual rather than collective responsibility for the security and welfare of families. Spinak proposes concrete steps toward abolishing the court: shifting most family supports out of the court's sphere, vastly reducing the types and number of matters that need court intervention, and ensuring that any case that requires legal adjudication has the due process protections of a court of law. She calls for strategies that center trusting and respecting the abilities of communities to create and sustain meaningful solutions for families. An abolitionist approach, in turn, celebrates a radical imagination that embraces and supports all families in a fair and equal economic and political democracy.
Rules of the Road by
Call Number: [NEW] HV9950 .H445 2023
Publication Date: 2023-08-22
A thorough and engaging look at an unexpected driver of changes in the American criminal justice system Driving is an unavoidable part of life in the United States. Even those who don't drive much likely know someone who does. More than just a simple method of getting from point A to point B, however, driving has been a significant influence on the United States' culture, economy, politics - and its criminal justice system. Rules of the Road tracks the history of the car alongside the history of crime and criminal justice in the United States, demonstrating how the quick and numerous developments in criminal law corresponded to the steadily rising prominence, and now established supremacy, of the automobile. Spencer Headworth brings together research from sociology, psychology, criminology, political science, legal studies, and histories of technology and law in illustrating legal responses to changing technological and social circumstances. Rules of the Road opens by exploring the early 20th-century beginnings of the relationship between criminal law and automobility, before moving to the direct impact of the automobile on prosecutorial and criminal justice practices in the latter half of the 20th century. Finally, Headworth looks to recent debates and issues in modern-day criminal justice to consider what this might presage for the future. Using a seemingly mundane aspect of daily life as its investigative lens, this creative, imaginative, and thoroughly researched book provides a fresh perspective on the transformations of the U.S. criminal justice system.
(c) Capital University. All rights reserved.
Visit us at:
Capital University Law Library, 303 E. Broad Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215, 614-236-6464
Information found on these pages does not constitute legal advice. Use of these guides does not create an attorney-client relationship.
Capital University students, faculty, staff, alumni, and attorneys looking for reference assistance with legal materials may contact the reference department at email@example.com. or call 614-236-6466 during normal reference hours.